They Say Everything

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Wall to Wall.”

wpid-wp-1424138534764.jpeg

 

One wall, two wall, three wall, four
Oh the things they could tell you once you step beyond my door
Frogs, and bears, and tigers, and feathers
Swans with swords, and it only gets better
There are many things of color with phrases upon them
It speaks so simply but you must listen beyond them

Each piece on my walls from its whole are the parts
To see each one by one is to learn the way of my heart
Sometimes Id like to think I chose them, but they chose me
How they came into my life was all meant to be

One wall, two wall, three wall, four
They can speak the journeys of my life when you come through my door
Once in a night, they have told me of my ancient pasts
And of my wrongs, of my goods, and lord, of my bads.
They can tell you of my journeys of the dimensions we’ve been together
On my walls hang my friends that help me to remember

One trip around the walls is all you need to know
That love lives here and it what I use to grow.

8 comments

  1. Good Woman · February 18, 2015

    What a great post. It has a very nice rhythm to it and it certainly portrays the personal nature of what you choose to display. My approach was very different in that I didn’t discuss the personal things on my wall but rather the one item that is not of a personal nature. I guess the personal aspect might be a topic for another day but I love yow you make it so personal for you.

  2. Donna · February 17, 2015

    I love your story of walls and what you have on them. It seems you are telling a story, a personal story.. Just come into my wall, one, wall, two wall.,three wall four and you will find who I am and what I share of my life. You walls show that your grow love there.

  3. mterrazas32 · February 16, 2015

    Very well written and thought out. I like it:)

  4. CynFranks · February 16, 2015

    I like this as well, using your outer walls to give a peek at your inner walls and in poetry. I think if you re-work this poem a bit, you could have a contest winner here. It is very good.

  5. themagickallibrarian · February 16, 2015

    Nice. Not knowing you, this seems more of about your “inner” walls or what makes you you rather than any physical walls. But like I said and we both know, I don’t know you. You could have items on the walls of your home the express who you are on a deeper level than the average viewer would think. Then again, isn’t that what home is supposed to be?

  6. othermary · February 16, 2015

    Very good! You’ve really personalized this well, and I like your refrain, “one wall, two walls…”

Leave a Reply

